Exploration into Film Noir

During my A-levels I focused my project on dramatic imagery. This led me to investigate the classic Noir style of photography which had a brilliant focus on lighting and composition. First I tried a lot of shots against a black background with two point lighting.

film-noir-7-smallfilm-noir-6-smallfilm-noir-12-smallfilm-noir-5-smallfilm-noir-13-smallfilm-noir-14-small


For the final part of my A-level I created a short film using still images akin to the film La Jetée by Chris Marker (1966). The following images are the ones I took for this short film, which used some more adventurous settings.

film-noir-3-smallfilm-noir-2-smallfilm-noir-1-smallfilm-noir-4-smallfilm-noir-9-smallfilm-noir-8-smallfilm-noir-10-smallfilm-noir-11-small

Leave a Reply

